Institutional Commission of Biodiversity

This Commission began its work on December 11th, 2001 with the aim of contributing to the conservancy and adequate use of biodiversity in Costa Rica and the traditional knowledge associated with it.

To that end, it regulates and controls the access to biodiversity in Costa Rica through the labors of teaching, research, and non-profit social action of the University of Costa Rica.

The Institutional Commission of Biodiversity was created in accordance with the provisions of the Article 8 of the Regulations about Access to Biodiversity in Activities of Teaching, Social Action and Research of the UCR.( Reglamento sobre Acceso a la Biodiversidad en Actividades de Docencia, Acción social e Investigación de la UCR  )

This Commission is composed of one member of each academic area of the University and a representative of each Academic Vice Rector’s Office.

See the list of permissions of access to the genetic and biochemical resources of biodiversity





M.Sc. Jorge Warner Pineda

Experimental Station Lankester Botanical Garden (JBL) (Coordinator)

Dr. Gustavo Gutiérrez Espeleta

Biology School

Dr. Jorge Cortés Núñez


Dra. Marielos Mora López


M.Sc Ronald Sánchez Porras

Western Regional Campus

Dr. Bernal Rodríguez Herrera

Biology School

Dr. Jorge Cabrera Medaglia

Law School

 Ing. Lochi Yu, PhD.

School of Electrical Engineering

Dr. Luis Barboza Barquero

Agronomy School





Licda. Silvia Salazar Fallas

Vice Rector’s Office for Research



Lisseth Fernández Cordero

Vice-Rector’s Office for Research, UCR.

Email address:

Telephone number: (506) 2511-5845

M.Sc. Jorge Warner Pineda

Director of Experimental Station Lankester Botanical Garden

Email address:

Telephone number: (506) 2511-7939

Fax: (506) 2511-7937